Angebote zu "Delights" (6 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The Great Treehouse War
9,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff. Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie's parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie's seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses-and her friends decide to join. It's kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever. In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy? This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: The Great Treehouse War 'It's kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff's whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air.'-School Library Journal 'Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun.'-Booklist '[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship.'-Publishers Weekly 'A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity.'-Horn Book Lost in the Sun * 'Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace.'-School Library Journal, starred review 'This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you.'-Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars 'Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning.'-Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder Absolutely Almost * 'A perfect book to share with struggling readers.'-Booklist, starred review * 'Achingly superb.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward.'-Publishers Weekly, starred review 'The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering.'-BookPage A Tangle of Knots 'A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.'-Entertainment Weekly, A- * 'Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.'-Booklist, starred review

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 13.07.2020
Zum Angebot
Beginner's Guide to Quilting
20,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Get started today with this comprehensive guide to patchwork and quilting for beginners. With the information and projects in this book, you can discover the delights of this old-fashioned craft-while creating beautiful quilts and other items for yourself and for others. Numerous color photos are included for guidance and inspiration. · Covers all aspects of quilting, from piecing and patchwork to quilting and binding. · Includes quick and clever techniques with step-by-step illustrated instructions. · Choose from sixteen small and large projects, including bed quilts, bags, and wall hangings. · Features a glossary explaining common quilting and sewing terms.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 13.07.2020
Zum Angebot
'You Must Be The Prince' - Traditional Fairy Ta...
14,40 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

Seminar paper from the year 2007 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Literature, grade: 1, University of Göttingen (Englisches Seminar), course: Gender and Intertextuality in Contemporary Retellings of Fairy Tales, 12 entries in the bibliography, language: English, abstract: The British female author A.S Byatt has always been fascinated by fairy stories, 'from years of reading myths and fairytales under the bedclothes, from the delights and freedoms and terrors of worlds and creatures that never existed.' In 1994, she published her own collection of fairy tales, titled 'The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye'. Four of the five tales are quite short and told in a narrative style typical for the genre, whereas the title story, which merges realism and fantasy, is of the length of a novella. The first two stories of the collection, 'The Glass Coffin' and 'Gode's Story', were originally published in Byatt's successful novel 'Possession' and are reprinted verbatim in combination with three new stories in 'The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye'. Byatt's work is remarkably intertextual, 'The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye' seems virtually to be a rich collage of fairy tale motifs. While the title story brims over with references to narratives of Oriental origin, as the Tales from Arabian Nights, the epics of Gilgamesh or the ancient myth of Cybele, and the works of Shakespeare and Chaucer, 'The Glass Coffin' and 'The Story of the Eldest Princess' are based on many themes and elements alluding to the traditional European fairy tales collected by Charles Perrault and the Brothers Grimm. Byatt herself mentions that 'I read through the whole collection (in German) and made a kind of patchwork or jigsaw Tale out of all the motifs that most moved and excited me [...].' This essay wants to examine how Byatt uses and transforms these familiar motifs, plots and characters from the 'old stories' in order to give her heroines more power over her own life in her new stories. [...]

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 13.07.2020
Zum Angebot
The Great Treehouse War
8,80 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff. Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie's parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie's seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses-and her friends decide to join. It's kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever. In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy? This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: The Great Treehouse War 'It's kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff's whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air.'-School Library Journal 'Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun.'-Booklist '[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship.'-Publishers Weekly 'A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity.'-Horn Book Lost in the Sun * 'Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace.'-School Library Journal, starred review 'This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you.'-Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars 'Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning.'-Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder Absolutely Almost * 'A perfect book to share with struggling readers.'-Booklist, starred review * 'Achingly superb.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward.'-Publishers Weekly, starred review 'The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering.'-BookPage A Tangle of Knots 'A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.'-Entertainment Weekly, A- * 'Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.'-Kirkus Reviews, starred review * 'Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.'-Booklist, starred review

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 13.07.2020
Zum Angebot
Beginner's Guide to Quilting
18,69 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Get started today with this comprehensive guide to patchwork and quilting for beginners. With the information and projects in this book, you can discover the delights of this old-fashioned craft-while creating beautiful quilts and other items for yourself and for others. Numerous color photos are included for guidance and inspiration. · Covers all aspects of quilting, from piecing and patchwork to quilting and binding. · Includes quick and clever techniques with step-by-step illustrated instructions. · Choose from sixteen small and large projects, including bed quilts, bags, and wall hangings. · Features a glossary explaining common quilting and sewing terms.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 13.07.2020
Zum Angebot