Angebote zu "Home" (25 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Beyond the Plain and Simple: A Patchwork of Ami...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A series of vignettes describing Amish people and customs Pauline Stevick has visited more than 50 Amish homes in numerous Amish settlements across the country. She has attended weddings, viewings, school sessions and programs, family gatherings, and more than a dozen church services. She has ridden in Amish carriages and has even slept in Amish homes. Through her close association with the Amish, she has gained unique perspective and is able to provide keen insight into a culture that is misunderstood by many. Beyond the Plain and Simple reminds listeners that although the Amish dress in almost identical clothing, they have distinct personalities and convictions. In vignettes and reflections she reveals the ways in which members of the Amish community live out their faith against the background of their communal culture, all the while emphasizing their individuality. Topics range from Amish family values to women to a retirement community in Florida to an Amish intellectual. Stevick´s eloquent narration is descriptive rather than expository as she often draws comparisons between Amish society and mainstream society, sometimes preferring the Amish ways and at other times questioning them. Beyond the Plain and Simple portrays the Amish as dynamic people who experience struggles, failures, and successes not unique to their community. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Heidi Paek. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/019140/bk_acx0_019140_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Letters from a Patchwork Quilt , Hörbuch, Digit...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A heartbreaking story of love and loss. In 1875, 18-year-old would-be poet Jack Brennan runs away from home to avoid being pushed into the priesthood. Life soon looks rosy for Jack when he lands the teaching job he´s always dreamed of and meets the love of his life, Eliza Hewlett. But his world is shattered when Mary Ellen, his landlord´s daughter, falsely accuses him of fathering the child she is expecting. Jack and Eliza decide to escape to America. As they are about to sail, Jack is arrested and dragged from the ship, leaving Eliza alone en route to New York with only a few shillings in her pocket. Once parted, each is forced to adjust to a future they had neither wanted nor expected. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Randal Schaffer. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/119192/bk_acx0_119192_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Patchwork Girl of Oz: Wizard of Oz, Book 7,...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Patchwork Girl of Oz is the seventh Oz book. In this book, you follow the adventures of a new band of characters as they explore the wondrous Land of Oz. Forced to venture out of the dark forest, Unc Nunkie and Ojo the Unlucky call on the Crooked Magician, who introduces them to his latest creation: a living girl made out of patchwork quilts and cotton stuffing. But when an accident leaves beloved Unc Nunkie a motionless statue, it is up to Ojo to save him. In his search for the magic ingredients that will restore his uncle to life, Ojo is joined by the Patchwork Girl and by the conceited Glass Cat, who boasts of her hard ruby heart, the resourceful Shaggy Man, and the lovable block-headed Woozy, whose tail hairs are just one of the things Ojo needs to rescue Une Nunkie. As they travel to the Emerald City, home of the wise and powerful Ozma, they meet Dorothy, the Scarecrow, and Toto. But no one proves more loyal than the Patchwork Girl, who, although she was brought to life as a servant, is determined to see the world for herself. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Ron Knowles. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/reag/000085/bk_reag_000085_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Beneath the Patchwork Moon: Hope Springs, Book ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Transforming the old Caffey property into Hope Springs’s new community arts center won’t be easy for celebrated weaver Luna Meadows, but she sees it as a labor of love. The center will honor Sierra Caffey, the best friend Luna lost years ago in a car crash. But when Angelo Caffey—Sierra’s older brother and Luna’s first love—returns to his family’s former home demanding answers, Luna must also face her long-buried feelings for him. Angelo left Hope Springs—and Luna—eight years ago. Handsome and headstrong, he suspects the beautiful Luna harbors a secret about the accident. Yet despite his best efforts, he can’t resist the heat that still simmers between them. Will the untold truth shatter their future? Or could a new beginning lie within the tangled threads of their past? Part of the Hope Springs series, this charming romance follows two broken hearts on their long journey home. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Natalie Ross. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/brll/005915/bk_brll_005915_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Hills of Home , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 377min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Deeply rooted in Appalachia, Hills of Home offers a rich literary patchwork of reflection, memoir, and humor. The story opens in the 1950s in the remote community of Munday in Wirt County, West Virginia. Though comprised of a mosaic of individual stories, the compilation reads like a novel and is characterized uniquely with the author’s personal diary entries and a sailor’s letters home.Hills of Home is filled with light-hearted adventures, coming-of-age romances, pie socials, county fairs, older-brother pranks, frog gigging, chicken canning, persimmon picking, porch sitting, and reunion going. Harsh winter survivals, personal family struggles, and humorous folklore that has been handed down through generations also grace the program.In Hills of Home, listeners will discover that mountaineers have pride in their heritage as well as the natural resources of their state. They will discover people who are fiercely independent, hardworking, have a love for family, and a keen sense of loyalty to neighbors. Most of all, listeners will find gracious friends, families, and neighbors who help one another in times of need, a quality that has proved sufficient to preserve their way of life in the hills. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Debbie Richard. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/129804/bk_acx0_129804_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Takeoff: Seth Walker , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 563min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

High-octane action, celebrity glamour, and endless possibilities for danger meet in this fast-paced debut for fans of John Sandford and Lee Child. Still reeling from a devastating personal tragedy, air marshal turned investigator Seth Walker embarks on his first case. All he has to do is accompany female pop star Max Magic to Los Angeles and deliver her to the FBI. But when their routine flight ends in a hail of gunfire at LAX, Walker has no choice but to take the frightened diva on the run. After a second attack leaves him battered and bloody, Walker realizes he cannot trust the FBI. To keep his client alive, he must use a patchwork of trusted aviation contacts to get her home to Austin, where the key suspects await. But as they race to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers, the biggest danger of all may be what they’re heading toward—the dark secrets that Max herself has been keeping… 1. Language: English. Narrator: JD Jackson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/brll/010706/bk_brll_010706_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club , Hörbuch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Lives are transformed...one stitch at a time. As Amish widow Emma Yoder contemplates the task ahead, her thoughts center on one: What if she fails? Longing to remove a burden from her family by becoming self-sufficient, Emma has offered to hold quilting classes in her home. But when she sees the patchwork of faces assembled for the first lesson, her confidence dwindles as doubt threatens to take hold. There’s Star Stephens, a young woman yearning for stability; Pam and Stuart Johnston, a struggling couple at odds in their marriage; Paul Ramirez, a widowed father hoping to find solace in finishing a quilt; Jan Sweet, a rough and tough biker looking for something creative to do; and Ruby Lee Williams, a preacher’s wife seeking relaxation amid mounting parish problems. While Emma grows to realize her ability to share her passion for quilting and her faith, the beginning quilters learn to transform scraps of fabric into beauty. And slowly, their fragmented lives begin to take new shape - some in unexpected ways - with the helping hands of each other and the healing hand of God. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Renee Ertl. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/oasi/001197/bk_oasi_001197_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Secondhand Jesus: Trading Rumors of God for a F...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Too often we look for shortcuts in our relationship with God. But when life derails, we find that our view of God is nothing more than a patchwork of rumors and secondhand information - too thin to sustain us in our moment of crisis. In those critical moments, we can choose to walk away from God...or let our questions lead us home. When you decide to wrestle with God, to engage Him for yourself, you - like Jacob and Job, and David - will see rumors die and revelation come alive. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kip Johns. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hove/000555/bk_hove_000555_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot